Tennant and District Times
Edgo is the official new Member for Barkly!

IT was a nail-biting finish for the Barkly seat in the NT Election, but it’s now official that the Country Liberal’s Steve Edgington is our new Member for Barkly.

Speaking to Mr Edgington on Tuesday, he said the victory was still sinking in but he was thrilled to be elected.

“I am looking forward to representing the interests of all the constituents in the Barkly Electorate and making sure to hold the Labor government to account to ensure their promises are delivered.

“We already know there are a significant number of infrastructure projects over the last four years that haven’t been delivered here.”

Mr Edgington thanked all his supporters and volunteers who helped him throughout the campaign and putting him in the seat to ensure the Barkly is put back on the map.

He narrowly won by five votes in the two candidate preferred vote against Labor candidate Sid Vashist after a late surge in postal votes.

The NT Electoral Commission’s final declaration for the Barkly was listed as primary votes: Mr Edgington 1,431, Sid Vashist 1,238, Gadrian Hoosan (Independent) 663 and Daniel Mulholland (Independent) 109.